Music Therapy in Natural Disasters

Krista Winter is my guest this week. She volunteered during the recovery from a tornado that struck Joplin, Missouri.

Krista Winter earned her MA degree in Music Therapy at Drexel University in Philadelphia (2009, I don’t know if you want to include that or not).  She has worked with clients on the autism spectrum, with developmental disabilities, and variety of ages and diagnoses in the hospital setting.  Krista currently works at Barton County Memorial Hospital in Lamar, which is in the southwest corner of Missouri.  It is a full-time position in a Critical Access hospital with only 25-bed inpatient unit.  Krista was hired to create the Music Therapy program at the hospital about two years ago, March 2010.  Last fall she joined the Missouri Task Force to advocate for Music Therapy.  As of 2011, Krista is the Midwest Regional representative on the National Workforce Development and Retention committee (formerly the Employment & Public Relations committee).  Occasionally Krista is a guest blogger on the Tempo! Music Therapy blog http://tempotherapy.com/blog/.

Joining Krista is Rudy Snedigar, CEO of Barton County Memorial Hospital.  It was Rudy’s vision to start a Music Therapy program at Barton County Memorial Hospital and at the American Music Therapy Conference in Atlanta, Rudy was honored with a certificate as a “Friend of Music Therapy” because he “gets it” as Ronna Kaplan said during the Opening Address.

Listen to internet radio with Janice Lindstrom on Blog Talk Radio

The Music Therapy Show airs live on Fridays at Noon eastern/11 am Central/10 am Mountain/9 am Pacific/1700 GMT.