July 9, 2010 – Music Therapy Drumming

This week’s show is on early: 11:30 Eastern, 10:30 Central, 9:30 Mountain, 8:30 Pacific. Bill Matney is my guest to talk about Music Therapy Drumming.

Music Therapy Drumming is a curriculum that includes percussion and rhythm skills that are designed to increase the capacity for a Music Therapist to effectively use drums, percussion instruments, and traditional rhythms within the music therapy setting.

The Music Therapy Drumming curriculum is designed and taught by Music Therapists who are professional percussionists with years of experience in both music performance and clinical settings.

Listen here. Or subscribe to the show through iTunes.

Bill Matney, MA, MT-BC

Bill works full time with a school district special education department, and serves as adjunct lecturer at Texas Woman’s University. He has presented both regionally and nationally on percussion pedagogy and percussion in therapeutic application with clinical populations. Bill has authored the book, Tataku: The Use of Percussion in Music Therapy, which is currently being used in percussion methods and improvisation courses at universities nationwide.

Listen to internet radio with Janice Lindstrom on Blog Talk Radio